Michael Fletcher

My Installation Experience, Tips Wanted

Hi there,

I'm looking to get some help with installing Yosemite on my computer. I am kinda new to installing Hackintoshes. I have made several attempts in the past, some with luck and other times not so much. My last attempt was with Mavericks with this same computer, and it would install and boot up the first time, but after that I was never able to boot into it again after the first restart. I honestly couldn't tell you the various Boot-Flags I had to use to get it to work right, but now after reading about "Yosemite Zone" it has sparked my passion again to try and get this hackintosh installation working, but this time I figured I would ask for help rather than just googling each problem. I wanted to actually put Yosemite on it's own hard drive bringing me up to 3 hard drives inside my computer (One being windows and the other a data master drive where I house all my information, programs, media etc), but if this is not an easier route I am fine with partitioning a current hard drive. I planned on getting started late tomorrow, as to give me time to read any responses I get back from this community and complete prior engagements, I have a family of 2 soon to be 3 so I can get pretty busy, so I apologize now if I take a while to response or read your replies. Below I have listed my computer hardware specs, I really look forward to hear your responses and hopefully have a stable, working hackintosh.

Thank you in advance!

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz Quad-Core

Motherboard: ASRock Z77 Pro4 ATX LGA1155

Memory: Kingston 8GB (1 x 8GB) DDR3-1600

Storage: 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB 3.5" 7200RPM

Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 670 2GB

Ethernet: Realtek RTL8111E

Audio: Realtek ALC892

Edit 1: So far I can see that my graphics card and my motherboard are the only things that might/should have issues due to the following posts: