Nvidia GeForce GT 420M problem

Hi guys, I tried installing OS X 10.10.0 on my laptop Acer Aspire 5742ZG and while 10.9.0 worked perfectly fine (I'm a complete noob, I only first ever heard of osx86 on Friday, but thankfully I figured out how to get network - BCM57780 to work).

However in Yosemite I have a problem with graphics - first i couldn't even boot into the system after install - the screen turned off after 'DSMOS has arrived', i solved this by booting with /s and then using grafix backup all. When I got the system to work, the resolution was 1024x768 and animations were incredibly laggy. Is there a way to fix this? I tried installing Nvidia web drivers and nothing happened, also tried extracting GPU rom, putting it into /Extra and booting with UseNvidiaROM=Yes, didn't do the trick either (I boot using chimera). I also tried various other boot parameters I found, but nothing changed at all.

My configuration:

Nvidia Geforce GT 420M 1024 MB

Intel Pentium Dual Core P6200 2.13 GHz

Yosemite Zone Mac OS X 10.10.0 (Chimera bootloader)

1 answer to this question

Hi, I have exactly the same configuration Acer Aspire 5742ZG. I installed niresh yosemite and went through the same installation process, used /s and grafix backup all to move the graphics kexts out, succeeded to boot into 1024x768.

As for drivers, I only managed to install nvidia CUDA drivers, but the CUDA interface in system preferences shows that nvidia gpu drivers are not installed. However, i couldn't get any of the current nvidia geforce mac web drivers to install (presumably because they aren't meant for a card as old as the gt 420m).

I also tried various bootflags but nothing has worked so far. Also set Graphics to 1366x768 in chameleon wizard, but nothing.