looking for advice on my Z97 build (also .. success?)
1 1

Question

hi guys. first time poster, please be gentle.

i'm copying the other post i made, because i put it in the wrong section .. sorry about that.

I'm looking for a bit of help with my build. my hardware is a Gb Z97-D3H and a 4790k. i'm using Yosemite Zone 10.10. SSD from crucial, but i have also a kingston ssdnow available. the chipset is Z97, audio is ALC1150, ethernet works, Wlan i dont have and dont need. GPU is a Nv 740. 

i am totally new to this. i've built Windows systems since early XP, but never any unix / mac. i've just started reading Niresh a week ago, and while i've been reading tony's site since mountain lion, i'm not sure i understand 100% what i'm supposed to do.

my steps:

i used transmac to create a boot disk from the yosemite-zone 10.10 file, on a sandisk

i set all my BIOS settings to Legacy, and disable VT-d. ("virtualization technology" instead is active)

at first i tried the boot flags as seen in Linus' video, so : -v cpus=1 npci=0x2000 GraphicsEnabler=Yes

this didn't get me anywhere. i tried G.E= No and the boot stopped earlier, so i figured it had to be Yes.

at one point i had an error message saying "device(DeathAdder) is stopping", so i thought there might be some issues between 10.10 and the DA. instead ..

it turns out that whats giving the boot problems is the use of USB3 ports.

i put my sandisk and mouse in USB2 ports and restarted with various boot flags.

finally, after a whole day of trying combinations, i read a post of someone saying they mounted Mavericks with no boot flags, so i tried that. i knew the G.E. had to be on, so my boot was just :

GraphicsEnabler=Yes

Bada-Bing!

i managed to install the whole OS. got to the disk utility, made a partition in journaled, and soon i was in Yosemite. Internet works, Safari works, audio doesn't work obviously.