Mountain Lion 10.8.5 on VirtualBox
2 2

Question

Mountain Lion 10.8.5 on VirtualBox

Hello folks

I'm new to Hackintosh, and maybe someone could help me.

I'm trying to install Mountain Lion 10.8.5 (Niresh's release) as a virtual machine on Oracle VirtualBox (version: VirtualBox-5.0.20-106931-Win). The OS on my host machine is WIndows 8.1 x64.

The specs of my machine (I made two screenshots, as my machine is a laptop with dual graphics, in one you can seel the Intel HD graphics card, in the other one the AMD Radeon):

PhyscialSpecs2.PNGPhysicalSpecs1.PNG

The specs of the virtual machine are as follows:

SpecsVirtualBox.PNG

No matter what I do, it doesn't even finish booting, it always hangs at the following message:

FakeSMC.PNG

I googled as much as possible, as far as I found out, FakeSMC is responsible for tricking MacOSX into believing it is being installed on a MAC, right? How can that even be that it finds a physical SMC when my computer is definitely not an Apple and on top of that I don't even bott into my physical PC but into a virtual machine?

What I've tried so far:

- disabling my AMD graphics card in device manager (shouldn't be an issue anyway since VirtualBox fakes another graphics card anyway, but who knows...)

- tried booting in safe mode as per your site "Debugging your Hackintosh"

- tried both ncpi=0x3000 / ncpi=0x2000 boot flags

- tried GraphicsEnabler=Yes / No  (both options)

- tried PCIRootUID=1/ PCIRootUID=0

What else could I try?

Treid googling of course, but didn't found a solution to my specific problem, neither on the net in general nor on your page specifically.

Any help is greatly appreciated, and I thank everyone who takes the time to read my post.

bm

8 answers to this question

Okay, I figured the first step out myself, it's so easy it's almost embarrassing, but I'll leave it here anyway so others who have the same problem can google a solution: